Oral-B Pro 2 2000 Review

Medically Reviewed By: Dr. Gemma Wheeler

(GDC Number: 83940)

Our Verdict

The Oral-B Pro 2 2000 is the updated version of the previously popular Pro 2000.

It might only have been an improvement in battery life, but in truth, it was overdue and Oral-B had managed to offer just 7 days battery life for too long.  They were often saved by their price.

A slim profile that looks smart and feels good in the hand, the 2 2000 doesn’t try to challenge with innovations like premium models do. Instead, it is focused on offering a good quality clean at a reasonable price.

It is a great choice for your first electric toothbrush. That said, the Pro 2 2500, comes with a travel case and is often as cheap, if not cheaper than the 2000.

Pros

  • Slim handled brush with good grip
  • 2 week battery life
  • Built in timer
  • Pressure sensor – be alerted when brushing too hard

Cons

  • A basic box contents
  • Battery status – More feedback would be good
  • Pro 2 2500 is often better value (learn more)

Editor’s Note

This review is of the Pro 2 2000 (view on Amazon), the newest, 2017 version of the 2000 electric toothbrush.

There is an older model that has an inferior battery, which you can read more about in our Pro 2000 review.

The 3 BIG Question about the Oral-B Pro 2 2000

If you are short of time, the answers to the following 3 questions should let you know all you need to about the Pro 2 2000.  If we have missed something, let us know in the comments.

If you want more detail, you can read our full Oral-B Pro 2 2000 review further down the page or watch our video review.

1. Is there anything drastically wrong with this toothbrush?

No, trying to find something negative to say about this brush is really quite difficult.

It is one of our favourites and a great electric toothbrush, especially for those switching from a manual brush for the first time.

Preview Product Rating Price
Oral-B Pro 2 2000 Oral-B Pro 2 2000 5,119 Reviews £80.00 £34.99

2. Which other brushes should I consider?

The Pro 2 2000 really is excellent, but it is the technically more premium (includes a travel case) Pro 2 2500, which tends to be the better value buy.

For very little extra, or often less money, you get the same great toothbrush, with the benefit of a travel case included in the box.

If you want something a bit more capable, with a few more bells and whistles, then consider the Oral-B Smart 5 5000.

For a more detailed comparison of buying options, see our list of electric toothbrush reviews and buying recommendations.

Our Choice
Oral-B Pro 2 2500 CrossAction Electric Toothbrush Rechargeable Powered by Braun, 1 Black Handle, 2 Modes Including Gum Care, 1 Toothbrush Head, Travel Case, 2-Pin UK Plug, Colour May Vary
Oral-B Pro 2 2000N CrossAction Electric Toothbrush Rechargeable Powered By Braun, 1 Handle, 2 Modes Including Gum Care, 1 Toothbrush Head, 2 Pin UK Plug
Oral-B Smart 5 5000 CrossAction Electric Toothbrush, 1 App Connected Handle, 5 Modes with Whitening, Sensitive and Gum Care, Pressure Sensor, 3 Toothbrush Heads, Plastic Travel Case, 2 Pin UK Plug
Brush Name
Oral-B Pro 2 2500
Oral-B Pro 2 2000
Oral-B Smart 5 5000
Customer Rating
Electric Teeth Rating
5/5
5/5
5/5
Price
£30.00
£34.99
£59.99
Prime
Our Choice
Oral-B Pro 2 2500 CrossAction Electric Toothbrush Rechargeable Powered by Braun, 1 Black Handle, 2 Modes Including Gum Care, 1 Toothbrush Head, Travel Case, 2-Pin UK Plug, Colour May Vary
Brush Name
Oral-B Pro 2 2500
Customer Rating
Electric Teeth Rating
5/5
Price
£30.00
Prime
Oral-B Pro 2 2000N CrossAction Electric Toothbrush Rechargeable Powered By Braun, 1 Handle, 2 Modes Including Gum Care, 1 Toothbrush Head, 2 Pin UK Plug
Brush Name
Oral-B Pro 2 2000
Customer Rating
Electric Teeth Rating
5/5
Price
£34.99
Prime
Oral-B Smart 5 5000 CrossAction Electric Toothbrush, 1 App Connected Handle, 5 Modes with Whitening, Sensitive and Gum Care, Pressure Sensor, 3 Toothbrush Heads, Plastic Travel Case, 2 Pin UK Plug
Brush Name
Oral-B Smart 5 5000
Customer Rating
Electric Teeth Rating
5/5
Price
£59.99
Prime

3. Where is the best place to buy the Pro 2 2000?

As one of the more popular brushes in the range, you should find this 2000 in most larger retailers such as supermarkets, high street chemists and online retailers like Amazon and Argos.

Typically here at Electric Teeth we recommend Amazon because it is very competitive and often has the best price on the Pro 2000 as it often has special offers running more frequently than others. It also offers free delivery. Nonetheless it is always worth checking out other retailers as well.

Why should you listen to us?

Electric Teeth is an independent organisation with a mission to simplify dental health.

Our team is a mixture of consumers and dental professionals.

We strive to create honest, informative content, telling you the facts, good or bad.

We are not sponsored by big brands or healthcare companies. Our site is funded by affiliate revenue and ads, but we only recommend products that we have tested and truly believe to be worth your money.

Why not watch this short video to find out all about us?

And now for a bit more detail….

Oral-B are not making things easy for me and you

The Pro 2000 is an existing model that is being replaced/updated/upgraded (however you wish to refer to it as) with a new model for 2017 and a slightly new name.  The 2017 edition that I am testing here is called the Pro 2 2000N.

Older models did not have the ‘2’ in the name, nor the ‘N’’ and are just known as the Pro 2000.

On the face of it, the differences seem hard to depict, but they do exist.

The important differences are:

  • The 2017 model has a Lithium-Ion (Li-Ion) battery rather than a Nickel Metal Hydride (NiMH) which more than doubles the usage time.
  • The 2017 model comes with either a dark blue or pink rubber grip on the handle compared to the light blue or pink rubber grips options for earlier models.

Not a great deal of difference!

The older Pro 2000 is an excellent brush still but it is worth taking advantage of the extra battery life if you can.

Video Review

Variants of this brush

There are several different variations of this brush, the primary difference being the brush heads included in the box.  Some retailers may or may not clearly label the different models, so it is worth being vigilant and understanding the differences. However, Oral-B brush heads are interchangeable, so, for the most part, it makes little differences which model number you choose; you can always buy different brush heads later. Sometimes there can be a difference in price simply because of the brush head.

  • Pro 2 2000 (view on Amazon). Typically you will find this is one of the following variants (all of which are the same except for the brush heads they ship with)
    • Pro 2 2000N – This is the Pro 2 2000 with 1 x CrossAction brush head included in the box
    • Pro 2 2000S – This is the Pro 2 2000 with 1 x Sensitive/Sensi Ultra Thin brush head included in the box
    • Pro 2 2000W – This is the Pro 2 2000 with 1 x 3D White brush head included in the box
  • Pro 2 2900 (view on Amazon) – This is a two handle pack containing 2 x Pro 2 2000.

What’s in the box

  • Braun Oral-B Pro 2 2000N rechargeable toothbrush
  • Charging station
  • 1 x CrossAction brush head
  • Documentation

Key Features

  • Oral-B 3D movement cleaning system (Oscillating-Rotating-Pulsating)
  • Removes 100% more plaque than a manual brush
  • Rechargeable battery
  • 2 cleaning modes (Daily Clean and Gum Care)
  • Visible pressure sensor
  • Clean timer including quadpacer
  • Battery life in excess of 2 weeks

Pros & Cons

Here are what I consider to be the pros and cons of the Pro 2 toothbrush.

The positives

  • Design – A slim profiled brush that looks and feels good in the hand.
  • Battery Life – The biggest improvement by far, this brush now boasts a battery life of over 2 weeks, a vast improvement that keeps it in line with competing models.
  • 2 cleaning modes – Offering more than the standard ‘Daily Clean’ it perhaps offers one of the most commanded alternative cleaning modes, one that is softer on the gums, ‘Gum Care’ mode.
  • Pressure sensor – A rear mounted pressure sensor illuminates red should too much force and pressure be applied to the teeth. Acting as a visual indicator you are clearly made aware to reduce the pressure and chances of doing damage to the teeth.

The negatives

  • Packaging – It looks smart, but it tells you nothing about the cleaning modes of the brush.
  • Box contents – The box contents is minimal.  It has what you ‘need’ but it would be nice to have an extra brush head or travel case included.
  • Battery Status – I would prefer a bit more feedback from the brush on how much power remains in the battery.  Get a red flashing light when low, but nothing more really.

Design, Usability, Clean & General Use

If you were to read our Oral-B Pro 2000 review, the model prior to this one, you will see we rated it quite highly.

In all honesty, this is not going to change, in fact, the brush has in many respects gotten better with a doubling of battery life.

From the moment you pull it out of the box, this is a smart looking brush, slim and stylish.

Just before I go into more detail on the brush itself, I just want to mention the packaging.

The outer box looks really nice, but there is very little information on it.

What I mean by this is that it shows a couple of the features being the battery life and the fact it has a timer and a round brush head, but it makes no mention of the brushes cleaning modes.

The back of the box is very sparse with just an image.  Could Oral-B have not explained here what’s included!?

Maybe I just had different packaging on my brush and in time it will change; the brush is very new at the time of review.  As a consumer, you are buying a bit blind unless you read reviews like this.

So, back to the brush handle itself then.

There are 2 parts to the brush, the handle that has all the clever bits of technology in and the detachable brush head.

Focusing on the handle, this is a sealed unit, which houses the battery inside, with the motor and the electronics to make the brush head move.

The handle is water resistant and can be rinsed under a tap and used in a shower.  I would always advise on avoiding submerging the brush below water, for example in a bath.

The front of the brush is dominated by a rubber grip that runs the length of the handle.  Subject to the version you look at buying, this will either be a dark blue or pink colour.

Providing an element of style as well as practical grip, this contrasts the rest of the high gloss white plastic body.

Positioned almost at the top of the handle is a power button that is white in colour with a blue power icon on in.  It stands out against the blue rubber grip and has a nice resistance when pressed.  Not too soft that it can be accidentally activated, but not too firm it is difficult to press.

Above and below this power button are contours in the rubber that drive the eye and the finger/thumb to it.

Press the button once to turn the brush on.  You will then have the Daily Clean mode running.  Press it again to change to the Gum Care mode.  Once more will turn the brush off.  Alternatively, you can press and hold the button for 2 seconds to turn it off.

A point to note here is that you have to turn the brush on then press the power button again to change the cleaning modes.  There is no identification on the brush handle as to which mode is selected, so you need to remember if you want the gum care mode to press the power button again.

As the first brush in the Oral-B range to offer an extra cleaning mode, if you have particularly sensitive gums, you might find the 2000S model better because of the softer brush head included.

If you would like to know more about how these cleaning modes differ you can find out more here.

The lower third of the brush handle has the Oral-B and Braun logo in white and then a battery and charging icon below them.

These icons are transparent and have an LED light behind them that illuminate at certain times.

Red will be the colour of the charging icon when power is low on the brush, whilst the battery icon will flash green when the brush is on charge.

Sadly neither icon gives any more feedback than this.  It would be nice if you had a green light to suggest a good amount of remaining charge or yellow for less than 50% for example, but no such luck.

Even better would be a little LED display that showed the exact battery percentage (%).

With this said, the battery does last an impressive 16 days, so for most of us, it is not essential.

As I mentioned the sides of the Oral-B pro 2000 rechargeable electric toothbrush are a gloss white plastic but not too slippery to the touch.  The rear of the handle has a series of ridges that run from the top to about half way down the handle.  These act as gripping points for the hand and fingers when in use, these are particularly good if your hands are wet.

On the very bottom of the brush handle is a recess, into which the pin on the charging stand connects to.  You can read more about this under the ‘Battery life’ section of this review.

Right at the top of the brush handle is a metal prong, this is what the brush head connects to and feeds the power from the brush motor.

One key feature I have not mentioned that is apparent on the handle is the pressure sensor.

Right at the top of the rear of the brush handle is a plastic panel that is a red/orange colour and sweeps down into the handle.

Behind this is an LED that lights up to produce a bright red light when too much pressure is detected during the brushing.

Applying too much pressure when brushing is a big issue and it causes more damage than you might think.  A brush need only skim the surface of the tooth and gums.

The pressure sensor is designed to try and avoid this.

When activated, you may well notice the sound of the brush motor straining and slowing down in addition to the light.  This is another mechanism the brush has to automatically reduce the power to save damaging your teeth and gums.

These things should signal to you to reduce that pressure.

Don’t worry if you activate it often, over time you will learn and avoid doing lasting damage to your teeth.

In the box of the unit on test here comes the most popular brush head, the CrossAction head.  It is one of a range of heads, suitable for the Pro 2 2000.  If you pick up the Pro 2 2000S model you will get a Sensi UltraThin brush head instead or if you buy the Oral-B Pro 2 2000W, you will get a 3D White brush head.

To fit or remove the brush head simply align the metal with the hole in the shaft of the brush head and push the two together until you hear and feel them clip into place.

Pull the two apart to release them.

The brush heads should be replaced every 3 months to avoid doing damage to the teeth and for hygiene reasons.  It can be difficult to remember when you last changed or replaced the heads.

Thankfully the blue bristles you see on the head will fade over time.  When they are a very pale blue or white, you need to replace the head.

All official Oral-B heads have these fading bristles.  Other brands may not, so be aware of this.

The interchangeable nature of the brush heads does mean you could use other brands brush heads, such as Molarclean for example.  However, the ‘best’ experience is with one of Oral-B’s own heads.

Find out how the brush heads differ by reading our Oral-B brush head comparison article.

All of the brush heads provide a good clean, in my opinion, the CrossAction is the best all-rounder.  I really like the clean offered by Oral-B brushes.

The noise they make is louder than most of the competition, but the clean feels punchy and a little harsher than Sonicare or Colgate.  It does not hurt or anything, but I tend to feel, even if it is only psychological, that that my mouth is really clean after using the Pro 2 2000.

Oral-B claim 100% more plaque removal than a manual brush.  Whilst this is hard to confirm or deny, you do definitely get a more consistent clean and studies have shown the benefits are present.

Both cleaning modes on this brush last for 2 minutes.

Hopefully, you know that the recommended brushing time is 2 minutes, 2 times a day.

If you didn’t or are guilty of not brushing for as long as you should, the Pro 2 2000 can help.

Built in as standard is a 2 minute timer and quadpacer.

Imagine your mouth broken up into 4 sections. Upper right, upper left, lower right and lower left.

You should spend 30 seconds cleaning each section.  The pacer helps you keep an even brushing time on these 4 sections.

At 30 second intervals, the brush will provide an audible warning via a slight pause in the brush motor at to tell you to change quadrant. Once the 2 minutes are up 3 brief pauses in the brush motor will be heard and felt.

Brushing for the full 2 minutes is very important, but just as important if not more so is the right technique. Make sure you learn how to clean your teeth properly.  You can learn here.

There are no other additions in the box.

It would be nice if there was an extra brush head or a travel case.  Although not essential it would round the box contents off nicely in my opinion.

However, the Pro 2 2000 offers everything you need.

In the unlikely event something goes wrong, there is as standard a 24 month warranty is provided with the Pro 2 2000.  This covers the battery too.  Register the brush online and you get an extra 12 months at no extra cost, so 36 months or 3 years in total.

One final thing to be aware of is that there is a 30 day money back guarantee on offer from Oral-B.  It is essentially like a trial, whereby you can buy and try the brush.  Should you not like it you can return it for a refund.  This is particularly useful if you are unsure whether an electric toothbrush is for you.

Summary of Design, Usability, Clean & General Use

  • Slim and comfortable brush to hold and use
  • Looks good
  • 2 cleaning modes – daily clean and gum care
  • Need to switch the brush on to change cleaning modes
  • 1 x CrossAction brush head included or 1 x Sensi Clean if the Pro 2 2000S is chosen
  • Alternative brush heads available
  • Built in quad pacer and 2 minute timer tells you when to change quadrant and finish brushing
  • 16 day battery life, but no percentage indicator for clear feedback of remaining power
  • Water resistant and can be used in the shower
  • A travel case or extra brush head would have been a nice addition
  • 2 year warranty as standard, register online for a free additional year
  • Money back guarantee option for 30 days

Battery Life

As I explained in the introduction to this review, the Pro 2 2000 boasts an improved battery life and performance over the older generations.

Just 7 days use or 28 minutes of actual usage time was available from the last generation.

It was passable but given the competition were offering 2-3 weeks, it was not great.

However, things have gotten much better as a result of replacing an ageing battery type, known as Nickel Metal Hydride (NiMH) batteries with newer Lithium-Ion (Li-Ion).

The battery life if now 66 minutes which is equivalent to 16 days.

That is well over double the usage time.

The 16 days we measured is based on one user brushing twice a day for 2 minutes.  So, if you tend to brush longer, you will get the same usage time, but it won’t last as many days.

The Oral-B Pro 2000 rechargeable electric toothbrush does not have a user removable battery, it is fixed inside the brush handle.

When you do need to charge the Pro 2 toothbrush, you can use the included charging stand.

Made of plastic, there is a prong on the top, on which the Pro 2 will sit to be recharged.  This charger has a power cable that will typically connect to a power socket found in a bathroom.  The 2 pin connector works on 220-240v and can be connected to a 3 pin UK socket with use of an adapter.

It usually takes up to 15 hours to recharge the brush fully.  It is a relatively slow charge.

I tend to leave it on charge overnight.

When charging the battery charging icon flashes green.

When power is low the battery status icon will flash red and you will likely feel the decrease in brush power.

For those that are wondering, it is quite safe to leave the brush on the charging station/dock all the time, but do be aware this could reduce the batteries performance over the years, so to avoid degrading the battery be sure to run it down completely every now and again (once every 6 months) and then recharge it fully.

Considering the competition, Sonicare still outperforms the 2000 and Colgate’s 250+ with a 3 week (21 day) battery life, but it’s not as far ahead as it once was.

There has been no physical change in the brush from older models in terms of size, so it is good to see that Oral-B have managed to improve the battery life without affecting the design.

Summary of Battery Life

  • Newer Lithium-Ion battery technology used
  • 66 minutes of usage time or 16 days usage based on 2 cleans a day
  • Can be left on the charger
  • Takes up to 15 hours to charge fully
  • A charger is included in the box
  • Status icon flashes green when charging and red when the battery is low
  • Works on 220-240 volts
  • Competition still offer up to 3 weeks usage

Price & Where To Buy

The Pro 2 2000 has a recommended retail price of £69.99.

You can normally get it for about 40% less than RRP, so selling prices are typically around £40 — we have included a live price comparison here that should highlight the best prices for the Oral-B Pro 2000.

The RRP is the same as the previous, now outdated model.  However, I have noticed that the average selling price is about £5-10 higher than the older model.

You could pick up the Pro 2000 for around £30-35, but typically this is now about £40-45

Deals and offers will allow you to get it at a lower price I am sure, but I think this is reflective of the increased production costs that have been felt globally as well as the likely increased price of including a Lithium-Ion battery.

At £40 it is still a super value brush.

Prices will vary from store to store.  Quite often online retailers will have the best price, but high street retailers like Superdrug and Boots regularly run promotions which result in much lower ticket prices.

I would suggest up to about £45 you could justify paying for this brush, unless you are personally happy you pay more.

Spend more than this and there are other choices out there, such as those I have identified.

Ultimately, pay a price you deem fair and are happy to pay.

This brush like every other requires replacement brush heads for each user every 3 months.  Replacement heads can be purchased in packs of 4 and are priced on average between £11 and £14.

Using the average cost (based on one user) and ownership over 3 years (the same as the warranty period (if registered online)), the Pro 2 2000 will cost £74 or 7p per day to own.

This price does exclude the cost of water, toothpaste and electric to charge it.  This price also works on some assumptions, but you get a rough idea.

You can bring the cost down further if you were to share it with other members of your household.  All you need to invest in is extra brush heads.

It is also worth considering the Oral-B Pro 2 2500, as despite technically being the more premium product, it is often the same price or cheaper than the Pro 2 2000.

Please note that all costs quoted are approximates and prices will vary based on location, supplier, time of purchase.  These figures should not be relied on as hard fact but as a guide, based on real information at the time of writing.

Summary of Price & Where To Buy

  • Recommended retail price of £69.99
  • Generally available with 40%  or more off RRP; circa £40.
  • Live price comparison here.
  • Works out at around 7p per day over 3 years
  • Share brush handle with another user to extend the value
  • Consider Oral-B Pro 2 2500

Reliability & Long Term Use

To date, I have yet to have a toothbrush fail on me, but it can happen, these are technological products after all with moving parts.

You can be assured that Oral-B has a strict quality control process and given how popular a brand they are the failure rate is low.

Should the Oral-B Pro 2 toothbrush fail and the fault is as a result of parts or workmanship rather than user damage then it will be covered under the warranty.

The standard warranty or guarantee if you prefer runs for 2 years/24 months from the date of purchase.

Taking just 2 minutes to register your Pro 2 2000 via Oral-B’s website and you can get an extra years warranty at no cost to you.

For a brush of this price, I think a 3 year warranty is pretty impressive.

During my testing, I have looked for possible weaknesses.  It is something we do when testing in any product.

The body of the 2000 comes from a long line of brushes that have been tried and tested and for the most part, Oral-B have managed to perfect the design and reliability.

Having personally spent a good couple of weeks with the Pro 2 2000N I can’t see any significant faults, issues or weaknesses in the brush.

Conclusion

One of our favourite electric toothbrushes just got better.

It might only have been an improvement in battery life, but in truth, it was overdue and Oral-B have managed to offer just 7 days battery life for too long.  They were often saved by their price.

A slim profile that looks smart and feels good in the hand, the 2 2000 doesn’t try to challenge with innovations like premium models do, instead, it is focused on offering a good quality clean at a price.

A great choice for your first electric toothbrush, that said however, the Pro 2 2500, comes with a travel case and is often as cheap, if not cheaper than the 2000!

Sale
Oral-B Pro 2 2000
5,119 Reviews
Oral-B Pro 2 2000
  • Oral-B 3D technology movement: Round toothbrush head oscillates, rotates and pulsates to break up 100 Percent more plaque vs manual toothbrush
  • Protect your sensitive gums: Visible gum pressure sensor reduces brushing speed and alerts if you brush too hard
  • From day 1: Gently whiten your teeth from first use by removing surface stains and plaque
  • Two brushing modes: Daily clean and gum care
  • 30 days money back: With a dedicated support line empowering you to purchase for 30 days without commitment; contact: 08007311792

Electric Teeth Rating

Size Guide

  • Height (without head) – 19.5cm
  • Height (with head) – 23.5cm
  • Width – 2.3cm
  • Thickness – 2.9cm
  • Weight (without head) – 123g
  • Weight (with head) – 129g

All are approximates

FAQ

  • Is the Pro 2 2000 an oscillating brush?
    • Yes, with Oral-B 3D motion that oscillates, rotates and pulsates.
  • What is daily clean mode?
    • This is the comprehensive everyday cleaning mode that works with the provided CrossAction brush head to effectively clean the teeth using the Oral-B 3D oscillating, rotating and pulsating technology to clean the teeth and remove up to 100% more plaque than a manual brush.
  • What is gum care mode?
    • Using a lower speed and power output through the brush head in conjunction to clean the teeth and massage gums, stimulating blood flow and assisting in reducing sensitivity in the gums when brushing.
  • Does it have any other cleaning modes?
    • No, it has just two cleaning modes Daily Clean and Gum Care. For more cleaning modes consider the Pro 3 3000 or the Smart 5 5000. If you want less, look at the Pro 600 or the Philips Sonicare EasyClean HX6511/50.
  • What brush head does it come with and what alternative ones can be used?
    • The brush head that is supplied with the Pro 2 2000 is usually a CrossAction head.  This is packaged as the Pro 2 2000N.  There is also a package called the Pro 2 2000S, this includes a Sensi Clean UltraThin head instead and the Pro 2 2000W, that includes a 3D White brush head.
    • You can change the head with any others on offer from Oral-B. There are many that work with the brush handle.  There are 6 main brush head options that include Cross Action, Floss Action, 3D White, Sensi UltraThin, Precision Clean and TriZone.
  • Does the Pro 2 2000 have a pressure sensor?
    • Yes, it does.
  • Does the Pro 2 2000 have Bluetooth?
    • No, it does not.
  • Does the Pro 2 2000 come with a warranty & how long is it?
    • If purchased new from an approved retailer the Pro 2 2000 will come with a 2 year warranty which can be extended by a further year to 3 in total if you register the brush online on Oral-B’s website.
  • Does the Pro 2 2000 have a built in timer?
    • Yes.  Often referred to as the quadpacer; subject to the cleaning mode the brush will provide an audible warning through a slight pause in the brushing mode to tell you to change quadrants.  There are 4 quadrants to the mouth, and brushing is normally for 2 minutes.  The timer will active at 30 second intervals, with a different sound at the end of the 2 minutes.  There is no visual timer included, although you can see the pause in the brushing mode if watching the brush head itself.
  • How long does the battery last?
    • The battery lasts up to 66 minutes, which if used on the standard daily clean mode is 16 days based on 2 cleans per day.
  • Does it come with a smart wireless guide?
    • No, the Pro 2 does not have a wireless smart guide included.
  • Does it come with a charger?
    • Yes, a charging station is included with the Pro 2 2000.
  • The charger is 2 pin, how can I use it?
    • The charger is a 2 pin/prong charger designed to be used on voltages of 110-240 volts.  It is a 2 pin charger suitable for connecting to shaver sockets found in many bathrooms in the UK & Europe.  If you do not have a shaver socket, you can purchase an adapter that will allow the charger to be connected to a standard 3 pin UK mains socket.
  • Can this be fixed to a wall?
    • The Pro 2  2000 charging station or brush head holder has not been designed to be fixed to a wall.
  • Can I use the Pro 2 2000 in the shower?
    • Yes.  The Pro 2000 is water resistant so if you choose you can use it in the shower. Avoid submerging it in water.
  • Does it come with a travel case?
    • No, a travel case is  not included in the box.

Your Opinions

Do you own or have you used the Oral-B Pro 2 2000?

Are there certain features that you really like or dislike?

Let us know what you think about this brush and let others who may well be considering purchasing one know your opinions before they do.

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Oral-B Pro 2 2000
Author Rating
51star1star1star1star1star
Jon Love

About Jon Love

Jon is a leading voice on electric toothbrushes and has been quoted by mainstream media publications for his opinions and expertise.

Having handled & tested hundreds of products there really is very little he does not know about them.

Passionate about business and helping others, Jon has been involved in various online enterprises since the early 2000s.

After spending 12 years in consumer technology, it was in 2014 that he focused his attention on dental health, having experienced first-hand the challenge of choosing a new toothbrush.

Read More

Leave a comment or question

22 thoughts on “Oral-B Pro 2 2000 Review”

  1. Jon,
    I just bought the 2900 twin pack as one charger between two makes it cheaper. I think this is the same as the Pro2 2000N.
    I was used to putting toothpaste onto my manual toothbrush before brushing, but doing this with the Oral-B it sprayed off when I pressed the button, so now I have to wipe toothpaste onto my teeth first. Is this the recommended method? The documentation is multilingual but very limited in scope!

    Reply
    • Hi Roger.

      Thanks for the comment.

      The Pro 2 2900 is the same as the Pro 2 2000N as you suggest, just a dual handle package.

      The best approach is to apply the paste to the brush head, before turning the brush on. Place the head into the mouth, then turn the brush on. Doing so will stop the toothpaste spraying everywhere.

      Reply
    • Hi Aileen,

      The Pro 2 2000W – This is the Pro 2 2000 with 1 x 3D White brush head included in the box, rather than the CrossAction brush head that comes with the Pro 2 2000N.

      The 2000W also comes with a pink rubber grip down the handle, rather than a blue one.

      The Pro 2 2000W does come with a pressure sensor.

      Reply
  2. Thanks for the review. I’ve bought this model and have since noticed toothpaste in liquid form has made its way into the section at the top of the brush handle where the metal prong comes out and connects to the brush head. Can you please tell me if it’s okay and safe to clean this section (once the brush head is removed) under running water? If it’s not do you know what’s the best way of preventing and/or clearing up the paste that makes its way inside the handle? I’m concerned that this could eventually damage the brush if not cleaned. Thanks again.

    Reply
    • Hi Martin.

      Thanks for the comment.

      I have noticed toothpaste/moisture can build up around the metal shaft that extends out from the brush handle. Drips down the brush head and pools here.

      I can’t say that I have ever noticed this getting inside the handle. If you think the seal around here may be loose or there is a risk moisture is getting in, you may want to speak to Oral-B.

      The general advice is to wipe the handle down. I tend to give mine a rinse under the tap (pointing the shaft down into the sink, so the water runs away from the internal components) and then dry off with a towel. I have found this keeps the brush in good shape.

      Reply
  3. A few days ago I purchased this toothbrush which works well and it does a great job. However, the polystyrene packaging was a huge let down. Polystyrene can’t be recycled and takes hundreds of years to decompose and can easily be carried by the wind and pollute water streams.

    I originally planned to purchase the Genius 9000 but I didn’t need the big plastic travel case nor the gimmicky plastic smartphone holder. Some people just want the toothbrush and the accessories should be sold separately.

    Reply
    • Hi Cristian,

      We are indeed ourselves find it disappointing that Oral-B still use polystyrene in their packaging. Philips are much better using cardboard.

      Reply
  4. Nice review… Comprehensive. I was unsure how the timer would work but I see now. I just got my first ever own proper electric toothbrush, always brushed with manual ones before… I want to take care of my teeth and I forget to brush so the electric toothbrush is more efficient+faster+cleans better+easy to use+good for lazy user. Also I find it so cool that it charges basically Wirelessly, the charging stand stands it up and it’s charging wirelessly, no cable to plug into the brush itself. Yep, bathrooms in Europe/UK have a shaver/electrical socket to plug into.

    In toothbrushes it seems the new modern tech way is the best/better… Some things like shaving are better the old school way (safety razor wet shaving). My opinion.

    I’m happy to start using this brush and I got it as a Birthday present. It’s a pink one but that’s fine by me, I dont care about the colour too much and Pink is Cool! Regular price 100€ and it was on sale for 50€, good price, fair price for sure. It’s not a cheapo value electric toothbrush, but also not a high-high end one. No need to get a high end one, In my opinion.

    Reply
  5. Battery life and replacement.
    After approximately how many years will the battery cease to hold a useful charge [eg last for only 1 day]?
    Can the battery be replaced by the user?
    What is the specification and cost of a replacement battery?

    Reply
    • Hi Kieren.

      Thanks for the comment. I cannot say after how long the battery will deteriorate to the point it will only hold charge for about 1 day.

      Most brushes are designed to last 3-5 years. The standard warranty is 2 years, but you can register for a 3rd year for free.

      Should the battery life get worse in this time, the warranty will allow you to get the brush repaired/replaced.

      After 3 years the battery life will likely begin to drop a little, how quickly the life will drop it is not possible to say. Only long term testing will really confirm this. The experience of 1 person may well be different to another.

      Whilst technically the battery could be replaced, the brush has not been designed too. I cannot comment on the cost of the battery, but I do believe it is unlikely to be economically viable to buy and replace the battery. I would estimate around £10-15 for the battery.

      Reply
  6. Hi Jon Love.
    I am from Asia and buy Oral B Pro 2 2000 from local retailer in Hong Kong . The packing printed Made in Germany but when I unpacked the box saw made in China at the bottom of the charger. I do not understand why the box indicated Made in Germany. Could you please tell me the charger of Pro 2 2000 that you tested is made in China or Germany. Thanks a lot .

    Reply
  7. Just purchased this on dentist recommendation.

    I found your review extremely helpful and written in plain English without unessesary jargon.

    Well done and thank you.

    Reply
    • Hi Brian.

      Thanks for the feedback, makes us feel good.

      Our aim has always been to help and make the decision process easier.

      Pleased to have assisted.

      Reply
  8. This is is really an incredible website.

    I wanted to buy a new tooth brush for our family and the tests have been of great help.

    We previously had a Oral-B Professional Care 3000 but after two years the Ni-MH batteries where very bad so I got new ones under warranty. Now two years later I am happy to see that Oral-B use Li-Ion batteries which have such a better life.

    Because of my bad experience with the Oral-B battery I initially wanted to buy a Philips Sonicare DiamondClean but the ones with all bells and whistles (Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Smart HX9924/03) was more than twice as expensive as the Genius 9000. So at the end a bought a couple of Oral-B PRO 2 2000N ’s and one Oral-B Genius 9000N to see how the very best and best value differ in daily use.

    If the Oral-B Genius is an Audi, the Oral-B PRO 2 2000N is a Skoda. Same company with so much value for the money.

    One advantage buying Oral-B is that you can use all tooth brush head models on every tooth brush. Also the added 3rd year warranty is a great bonus ! Last but not least the Li-Ion batteries in an entry level device are hard to beat but remember that Philips Sonicare already had them for years.

    Thanks again for the great test and giving consumers enough information to make a well though purchase.

    Reply
  9. Great review Jon, just getting ready to replace our aging Braun’s and this review was very helpful (especially with regard to the updated battery. We could have purchased a model with the older battery at the same price) Thanks mate!

    Reply
    • No problem Mel! Always good to know that I have helped.

      As and when you replace your brush, be sure to come back and let me know what you think of them.

      Reply
  10. Thank you for your very comprehensive review. I have just bought this model from Amazon but the box looks different to that on Amazon’s website and I have been trying to discover whether I have been sent the correct item, especially as there is no mention of the Gum Care mode on the packaging. Even Oral B’s own website is still showing the older packaging but I now understand I have the latest model so am very happy – thanks again!

    Reply
Leave a comment